Paint chip galore

21 Dec

I moved out of the city in the summer and got an extra room: a glazed balcony almost the size of my bedroom. I wanted to have a low table to hold flower pots, slushy drinks, books, and the occasional dinner plate. I had a coffee table from Ikea that I’d since replaced but held onto, and I figured it might do the job.

But the table was white, and bruised, and in desperate need of color. Which color? I couldn’t decide, so…I stole almost all the paint sample chips at the local hardware store and went to town, inspired by some awesome creations.

midtable

A few layers of mod podge later I had this to show for my hacking:

balcony table and bench

The color range the chips came from features a descriptive name for each shade, written on top of the chip. My table includes, among others: cupcakes, llamas and sunrises. It has held up nicely, and the balcony was my favorite place during the hot summer, and still is – amidst all the snow – as an occasional hangout after the sauna. Just long enough for me to sit down on the bench and lay my apres sauna drink on the table!

6 Responses to “Paint chip galore”

  1. Diana December 22, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    Lovely choice of colors, Stina. The paint chip names are the best part, I always think.

    • stina December 22, 2010 at 6:27 am #

      Thanks, Diana!

      It’s funny, but this was one of the first paint lines in Finland to feature those names. In the past we’ve made do with the lovely codes: H499 for the kitchen, J366 for the bedroom etc. I much prefer the coconuts and beaches and daydreams.

  2. Louise aka LuLu December 12, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    I absolutely love this! Isn’t Modge Podge awesome?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 3 Modi Per Upcycle Campioni pittura nei accenti impressionanti - September 16, 2011

    [...] Craft Ahoy [...]

  2. 10 Ideas Inspired by Paint Samples | Purehome - September 27, 2011

    [...] Need to hide a few of your coffee table’s scrapes and bruises? Cobble the table via paint samples for an easy-meets-trendy makeover. It’s your call whether those sassy paint sample names get to show, but we vote yes. Learn how one crafter made this unique paint sample table at Craft Ahoy! [...]

  3. DIY: Paint Chip Crafts | Broke-Ass Stuart's Goddamn Website - August 9, 2012

    [...] – these table tops turned out pretty lovely and were assembled with double-sided tape and mod podge. If that sounds like a bigger project than you’re up for, then start small by decoupaging [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

