Along with the even older

7 Jan

Winters here are dark, if not always as cold as they used to be in my childhood. Last December it was so dark that when I finally finished my gift sewing and knitting, I couldn’t get any decent pictures of the lot. And since the gifts were awesome, they’re getting some heavy use now and cannot make it back to my photo shop.

But here’s something that I finished in the spring, during good weather. These are socks for a dear friend, modeled by an equally dear friend. The yarn was dyed by me, with heather. It gives a strong, natural yellow, which I really like. The books say it should turn brown with some iron as mordant, but I haven’t been succesful. Oh well, yellow should get more sock play anyway.

Heather's Denmark

Pattern: Denmark from Knitting on the Road by Nancy Bush
Yarn: Novita Nalle, naturally dyed
Made for: Heather

I modified the pattern slightly to make an eye of partridge heel. Apparently I’m not alone in thinking it’s pretty, since some Estonian acquaitances demanded I explain how to make one. They traditionally make a similar slipped stitch reinforcement as us Finns but the eye of partridge seems more…ornamental while serving the same function.

My plan for this year is to have all Christmas presents ready by the end of August. Crazy, you say? I just want pretty pictures with puppies and flowers in them.

Heather's Denmark

One Response to “Along with the even older”

  1. Heather January 14, 2009 at 2:29 am #

    And now these beautiful socks reside in British Columbia, Canada, where the winters are dark, but not so cold and snowy. The are well loved and admired.

Leave a Reply

