Dreaming of quilts

3 Feb

If I had more hours in a day, this post would be about finished quilts. Alas, it is about planned quilts. Not that I don’t like those. They have lots of promise since I haven’t screwed anything up yet. No patchy quilting, bunched up backing or mismatched binding. Silver linings and all that.

A family friend was due yesterday and everyone’s waiting for news. Me not so much for the actual baby but for the quilting. Oh, how selfish can a person be? But I need to know whether the newcomer is a girl:

baby girl

or a boy:

baby boy

(Those weird effects in the photos are actually rays of sun distilled through my blinds. I couldn’t believe it!)

You understand? Although I might have to pretend pink is gender neutral in case I run out of charm squares before the top is of decent size. The fabrics are from Amy Butler’s Daisy Chain collection. I do have something small ready for the baby already. My first applique, and it shows. But I guess week-olds won’t notice, or complain.

apple of my eye?

And since the grown-up looking quilt is not calling my name, I’ve let my my treasured candy-colored Ginger Blossoms out of the sewing cabinet. I want to make something really fresh-looking, with white linen/cotton sashing. Perhaps a Mixtape quilt? It’s gonna be very girly but who cares.

ginger blossom

2 Responses to “Dreaming of quilts”

  1. Typy February 6, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    That fresh one is going to be so beautiful. The colors are like summer it self :-)

  2. Pikku-Kettu February 9, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

    Mixtape! Ja tyttötyttöily on välillä ihan kivaa (ootas kun näät miun seuraavan täkin kankaat). :)

Leave a Reply

