Baby boy

21 Feb

The baby beat me to it but here it is: the zig zag quilt got finished this morning during the women’s relay in the biathlon world championships. Excellent background entertainment for slip stitching binding, if you ask me!

It hasn’t been through the wash yet, so nevermind all the pin marks on the binding. I chose a solid gray binding both for practicality and style. It’s a 30mm wide (1 3/16 inches). I like this width more than the standard inch wide as it looks more substantial.

zig zag quilt

I quilted in the ditch along the zig zags to bring out the stripes. It should be enough since the batting is actually just some white flannel doubled up for a cozy blanket.

daisy chain zig zag quilt front

I love the backing fabric. It is my favorite of the whole Daisy Chain collection by Amy Butler, and unfortunately only available in this colorway. The white quilted zigzags look nice on the back, too.

zig zag quilt backing detail

Here’s the whole set that I’m giving to the newborn. Not very boyish but cheerful enough. I hope my partner in crime, my sis, likes it too.

for a baby boy

5 Responses to “Baby boy”

  1. Heather February 22, 2009 at 3:32 am #

    I now see the vision with the onsies you got in Ohio. Very beautiful quilt, Beena, All those lovely baby gifts are very inspiring. Makes me want a to have a baby ;-)

  2. stina February 22, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    Heather, there is a method to my madness, oh ye of little faith. Hmm…if you’re pregnant by November, I could quilt something… :P

  3. Pikku-Kettu February 22, 2009 at 7:25 pm #

    Wow! Kylläpä siitä tuli hiano! :)

    (Jäikös niitä jämiä?)

  4. stina February 22, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    Heti sitä ollaan kärkkymässä jämiä. :D

    Pituus oli just, leveydestä jäi vajaa 20 cm.

  5. Tytti February 24, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    Hi!
    Enhän minä vanha täti paljon mittään ymmärrä mutta kuvat on hienot ja olen oikein ylpeä sinun töistäsi.

Leave a Reply

