Shades of summer

1 Mar

I long for summer. But not for the weather. Now, don’t get me wrong, I like warmth and sunshine as much as the next girl. My motives are just a bit more complex. See, when the sun shines plants and mushrooms grow. When it’s warm, I can play with pots and pans outside. When it’s summer, I can add to my collection of shades. This is fingering weight silk-wool yarn, in two dozen different shades.

Naturally dyed silk/wool yarn

I took up natural dyeing two summers back and got hooked pretty badly straight away. So don’t say I didn’t warn you. I have only dyed with things I can find where I live (kitchen cupboards included). My favorites are the mushroom dyes and the surprising results, for example a pale blue from the deep red dye bath extracted from the creeping woodrsorrel growing on our yard. See the next photo for labels of dye stuff and mordant (alum and or iron sulfite).

Naturally dyed silk/wool yarn

This week, I started turning this palette into a rainbow-like construction. I love watching the color changes and stop every few moments to admire them which means it’ll take a while to finish this! My sis said it’s autumny but my pots and I know better. :)

feather and fan detail

6 Responses to “Shades of summer”

  1. bowlofhours March 1, 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    So beautiful, and so inspiring! I’ve just started spinning (top whorl drop spindle) and have a hankering to try dyeing as well at some point. Your yarn looks so gorgeous!

  2. pikkukettu March 2, 2009 at 7:51 am #

    Toi huivi on ihan mahtava! Tahtoo nähdä livenä.

  3. stina March 2, 2009 at 9:49 am #

    bowlofhours, thank you! I haven’t had to the guts to try spinning. To be honest, I don’t think my wallet could support a new stashing venture.

    Kettuseni, sanot vaan missä ja milloin. Huivin edistymistä haittaa hiihtokisojen loppu, pitänee katsoa leffoja. :)

  4. valokki March 2, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    Upea väripaletti!

  5. Maijamirjami March 5, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

    Oot saanut ihanan laajasävyisiä ja kirkkaita kasvivärejä aikaan, wow!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paging spring « Craft Ahoy! - April 4, 2009

    […] I dyed some yarn. Actually, lots of yarn. You saw all the shades a while back. I ended up using 22 different ones for this […]

Leave a Reply

