Girly things

8 Apr

As promised, here are some practice dresses. I recently traded some yarn for sewing magazines, more specifically Ottobre magazines which include fun patterns for kids. Having only made a few clothing items, I decided to start with some easy dresses. I made these two last weekend. First, a linen summer dress with gathered neckline and sleeves. I appliquéd a little bird on it from Tula Pink’s Full Moon Forest fabrics.

linen dress front

linen dress back

I battled with the elastics a bit but once I figured those out this was a breeze to make. The pattern is from Ottobre 2/2005. It’s a size 92cm (chest circumference 64 cm and total length 55cm) and big for that size. For summers to come, I suppose.

I wanted to make something my goddaughter could wear already now, and decided upon a corduroy vest dress from the latest Ottobre (1/2009). The size is 86cm (chest 62 cm, length 51 cm).

corduroy dress front

corduroy dress back

The second dress offered more challenge for a novice like me: buttonholes, top stitching and partial lining. It came together quite quickly though. The main fabrics for both dresses are from Hilco, the lining is Midwest Modern from Amy Butler. The buttons are from my late grandmother’s stash.

I like looking at the details the most. I think it’s safe to say these aren’t the last dresses I’ll be making.

dress details

3 Responses to “Girly things”

  1. Anniina April 8, 2009 at 7:30 pm #

    Very nice work! And I must say that I didn’t notice that vest dress in last Ottobre but yours looks so good that I have to look again!

  2. pikkukettu April 9, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    Onpas nättejä! :)

  3. Eliisa April 12, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    Todella söpöt mekot olet ommellut!! Sametti on ihanan väristä.

Leave a Reply

