Woof

24 Nov

I wanted to learn a new skill this year. Now, I’m not entirely sure I could claim that I know how to weave so I’ll let you decide. I bought this baby from Fibrecrafts and my friend of the amazing biceps hauled it to Finland. No, it didn’t fit into my suitcase. Yes, I thanked her. No, I didn’t thank her enough. Thank you!

Flip loom

She’s a 15 inch Schacht Flip folding rigid heddle loom and I am in love. The first few weeks I just started at the parts from the couch. Sizing them up, getting ready for the battle. One glorious Sunday I put her together and placed her on my coffee table. A perfect match. Some petting of the ever so smooth maple wood finish ensued. It took me another week to even think about warping. It was rather straight forward, as I followed the (you guessed it) direct warping method. A few adjustments to tension and I was off. This is the second thing to come off my loom. The first was deemed a sight not suitable for children.

Noro scarf open

Facts: The warp is undyed fingering-weight Knitpicks Gloss and the weft is Noro Silk Garden Lite in colorway 37. I used 150 g of both yarns for a scarf that’s 72 inches long and 13 inches wide. The finishing is an improvised hemstitch done in both directions for symmetry.

Noro scarf detail

More facts: I love it some much I never want to wear other scarves. Plus it got me more attention in Vancouver than I could have dreamt of. Thank you random bus driver on Kingsway! Oh, and “woof”? An old term for weft. I just thought it funny. :)

Noro scarf

4 Responses to “Woof”

  1. pikkukettu November 25, 2009 at 8:16 am #

    Woof woof! Palkkioksi kaikesta kantamisesta vaadin saada puiden käyttötunteja vähintään parin huivin verran. :)

  2. BerlinBat November 25, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    Upea huivi! Värjäydyin juuri vihreäksi kateudesta ;)

  3. joko November 25, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    huivissa on todella kauniit sävyt!

  4. Michele November 27, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

    Wow!!! Gorgeous! I have been so tempted to get one of these and I think you’ve convinced me….

Leave a Reply

