Welcome home, babies!

24 Jan

Happy year 2010! I’m glad to announce the arrival of my nephew. In addition to a grateful  and excited family, he was greeted with the following:

Quilt made from my treasured fabrics of the Aviary line of Joel Dewberry. I’m still holding onto a full quilt’s worth of the pink/green colorway.  The pattern used on this tiny quilt is Nest by Tula Pink (for her Nest line). I modified the original block size down to 11.5 inches. The binding is My folklore by Lecien.

joel dewberry aviary quilt

Here’s the back of the quilt, together with Wave blanket from Loop, knit with three colors of fingering weight merino, two strands held together.

joel dewberry aviary back and knitted blanket

Now, I wanted the baby boy to have some toys for comfort and play to come. First I made the Scotty dog from a mix pack of Anna Maria Horner scraps in home dec weight. While it looked delightful it seemed a bit large for a newborn’s cot. So I made its companion bunny.

scotty the dog and bunny friend

I hope the wee one and his family enjoys these humble offerings. For future notice,  all may be machine washed at 40 degrees.

On the homefront, I upgraded my sewing machine. While my partner hoped I’d choose one “with a bigger tv” (an embroidery machine with large screen) I got a Quilt Expression 4.0. In the plans: stippling and larger quilts. As soon as I learn how to maneuver it! See below for practice runs: appliques for t-shirts for the bigger kiddos in my life.

mothership

dax

matryoshka

4 Responses to “Welcome home, babies!”

  1. seventhsister26 January 25, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    I love the colors you used for the baby quilt….very different, very pretty;)
    Happy Quilting!!

  2. Pikku-Kettu January 25, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Whee! Siellähän on saatu vaikka mitä aikaseksi!

    Jokos uusi kone tottelee? :)

    • stina January 25, 2010 at 11:24 am #

      No eipä juuri :) Nuo applikaatiot oli aika tuskan takana, kun on enemmän automaagiota kuin aiemmin. Mutta se ylimääräinen applikaatiopaininjalka oli hyvä. Tilkkuilua en ole vielä ehtinyt kokeilla, suorapistolevy on tilauksessa.

  3. ellu February 9, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Ihana täkki! Täytyykin ottaa ohje talteen.. Kuin myös nuo muut :)

Leave a Reply

